For The First Time Since 1975, Maryland Lacrosse Wins The National Championship

3 straight National Championship appearances. Lost to Denver in 2015. Lost to UNC in 2016. And for the first time since 1975, the Terps win the final game of the year.

Just a ridiculous run for this Maryland senior class that has been to Championship Weekend all four years in a row. Just think about that for a second. 4 straight final fours and 3 straight title games. Not that it would have been totally diminished if they didn’t win today but you don’t want your legacy to go down as the Dan Marinos of college lacrosse. Ending their career with a ring cements their legacy as one of the best classes the game has ever seen and it all starts and ends with Matt Rambo.

Rambo didn’t have the type of dominant performance we’ve been used to seeing him have on the big stage. But he showed why he’s the best with this goal right here to help seal the deal for the Terps. Just pure gritness on that take and now he ends his career as the leading point scorer in Maryland history. The leading point scorer in the NCAA Tournament. And as a National Champion.

For the most part, it was the secondary guys coming up huge for the Terps today. Adam DiMillo and Dylan Maltz each had a pair. Tim Rotanz put the dagger in the Buckeyes at the end there. Dan Morris came up huge in between the pipes and held on as long as he possibly could during that Ohio State comeback. A wild game to cap off a wild season of college lacrosse.

And now? Well that’s all she wrote. Another season of college lacrosse is in the books and now we wait until February for another one to start up. Just want to give a quick shoutout to all the Stoolies who followed along all season. It was great to bring some legitimate lacrosse coverage to the site and appreciate everyone who didn’t constantly shit on it. Hopefully it’ll only get better from here.