Here's An Early Preview Of The Giants 2014 Schedule

Giants

Mon., Sept. 8 at Detroit 7:10 p.m.
Sun., Sept. 14 Arizona 1 p.m.
Sun., Sept. 21 Houston 1 p.m.
Thurs., Sept. 25 at Washington 8:25 p.m.
Sun., Oct. 5 Atlanta 1 p.m.
Sun., Oct. 12 at Philadelphia 8:30 p.m.
Sun., Oct. 19 at Dallas 4:25 p.m.
Sun., Oct. 26 Bye
Mon., Nov. 3 Indianapolis 8:30 p.m.
Sun., Nov. 9 at Seattle 4:25 p.m.
Sun., Nov. 16 San Francisco 1 p.m.
Sun., Nov. 23 Dallas 8:30 p.m.
Sun., Nov. 30 at Jacksonville 1 p.m.
Sun., Dec. 7 at Tennessee 1 p.m.
Sun., Dec. 14 Washington 1 p.m.
Sun., Dec. 21 at St. Louis 4:05 p.m.
Sun., Dec. 28 Philadelphia 1 p.m.

Five prime-time games for a squad that finished a miserable 7-9 last year, including kicking off the MNF schedule? People just love the NFC East. Anyway, compared to last year, 2014 is clearly softer on paper. When you take away all the teams they played in 2013 (6 division games along with Seattle & Detroit), here’s the difference:

2013 – Denver, KC, SD, Oakland, Green Bay, Minnesota, Chicago & Carolina

2014 – SF, Arizona, STL, Indy, Houston, Jacksonville, Tennessee & Atlanta

5 of the 8 teams listed in 2013 made the playoffs (thanks AFC West). Of the 2014 list, not only did just two (Frisco & Indy) play in the post-season but 4 of those squads earned their way to higher draft picks than Big Blue sitting 12th (thanks AFC South). There’s no excuse for the revamped G-Men not to be able to flip their 1-3 out-of-conference record around against a couple of rookie QB’s. Beating up on cupcakes was the one problem the Giants didn’t have last year.

Their season opens and closes without any real threats outside of division rivals. Shit gets real though after their Week 8 bye. The three best teams the Giants will see all year are lined up in a row. I’ve read some beat writers complaining about having to travel to Seattle after hosting the Colts on Monday night. I love my G-Men, but let’s be real. Stealing a W from the Super Bowl champs in their building will be virtually impossible regardless of how much prep NY has. I’m actually glad they’re playing the Seahawks instead of a beatable west coast team where the short rest might matter.

All that being said, if Big Blue plans to embark on another improbable playoff run, the real work has to be done within the division. For the past 4 seasons they’ve finished 3-3 against the Dallas/Philly/Skins trio. This year, the Giants will have an opportunity to take control prior to their week off. After what should be an easy win over the Texans, 3 of their next 4 matchups will be on the road against each NFC East rival. A pair of W’s out of those will go a long way towards making the dance. Drop 2 or 3 and it’ll be the second-half scratching & clawing we’re used to. I say the G-Men finally come out on the winning side of the division crap shoot. Prediction: 10-6