AUGUSTA, Ga. — Tiger Woods got a bad break, took a bad drop, but will live to play the weekend at the Masters — with two strokes added to his score — due to a revision to the Rules of Golf made two years ago.
Woods was deemed to have taken an improper drop on the 15th hole during the second round of the Masters at Augusta National on Friday when his approach shot hit the pin and bounced back into the water.
He made a bogey-6 on the hole, which on Saturday morning was revised to a triple-bogey 8.
Fred Ridley, former president of the USGA and the chairman of the Masters competition committees, detailed the timeline of events surrounding the penalty in a statement released Saturday morning.
“After being prompted by a television viewer, the Rules Committee reviewed a video of the shot while he was playing the 18th hole,” Ridley said in the statement. “At that moment, based on the evidence, the committee determined he had complied with the rules.
Full Disclosure I’m a casual golf fan. I watch all the majors, the ryder cup and an occasional Sunday if there is nothing on TV, so I’m not sure if this is a commonplace thing or not but what the fuck? How shitty of a life does this guy have? How much of a loser do you have to be to watch something on TV and call into the USGA to tell on a player? That’s unreal. I can’t even comprehend it. Whoever did this is basically a professional tattle tale. A crazy stickler for the rules that probably tucks his shirt in wherever he goes and always drives with his hands on 10 and 2. He’s the kid everyone hated growing up, now he’s calling into the Master’s and making everyone listen to some obscure golf rule over and over. Fucking ruined it for everyone. Go fuck your fat wife or yell at your kids bro, no one needs you policing the Masters.
*If this guy was calling from a sportsbook because he has thousands of dollars against Tiger then I give him a pass, because under those circumstances I would definitely call in as well.
Comments Are Closed
Property of Barstool Sports 2015