Recapping The College Basketball Awards


Last night college basketball had its version of an award show as they handed out seven awards. They go from Wooden Player of the Year, top point, top shooting guard, top small forward, top power forward, top center and then Wooden Legends of Coaching Award.

It’s not going to surprise anyone, but Villanova dominated these awards. You had Jalen Brunson win the Wooden Player of the Year and Bob Cousy (top point guard) award. You had Jay Wright win the Wooden Legends of Coaching Award. You had Mikal Bridges win the Julius Ervin (top small forward) award.

Here is the full list of the winners:

Bob Cousy Award (Point Guard) — Jalen Brunson, Villanova
Jerry West Award (Shooting Guard) — Carsen Edwards, Purdue
Julius Erving Award (Small Forward) — Mikal Bridges, Villanova
Karl Malone Award (Power Forward) — Deandre Ayton, Arizona
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award (Center) — Angel Delgado, Seton Hall
John R. Wooden Legends of Coaching Award — Jay Wright, Villanova

Now, I know what you’re likely waiting for and that’s me complaining about something. I don’t really have any problem with who won the awards. My only complaint is how they list it out by position, something that’s gone by the wayside. For instance Carsen Edwards isn’t a ‘shooting guard’ he’s a lead guard and that’s even how his coaches describe him when you talk to them. You can even argue that Deandre Ayton isn’t a power forward, he’s a center by trade. I get the way it’s broken out here, but I still would prefer to see it as top point guard, top wing, top post player and top stretch player.

This night was about Brunson though, completing the sweep of sorts of awards. He won AP Player of the Year, Big East Player of the Year and now the Wooden Award. Really the only one he’s missing is the Most Outstanding Player at the Final Four, but I think he’s okay with just taking the championship there. Brunson beat out Devonte’ Graham, Deandre Ayton, Trae Young and Marvin Bagley for the Wooden Award.

The Wooden Award All-Americans were also handed out, which included the five names I just listed along with Jevon Carter, Keita Bates-Diop, Trevon Bluiett, Mikal Bridges and Miles Bridges.

While awards aren’t necessarily the best thing to look at or anything like that, it’s just further validation that we really need to think different about how we talk about this Villanova team. This is absolutely one of the best teams of the modern (2000-present day) era. The Wildcats absolutely steamrolled everyone in the NCAA Tournament really just lost one game when it had its entire roster at full strength. That loss was at Butler when the Bulldogs shot approximately 142% from three.