Bruce Springsteen And The E Street Band Drop A New Song And Announce New Album

Hollywood Reporter - Bruce Springsteen made a surprise return on Thursday morning (Sept. 10) with the heartbreaking rocker "Letter To You," the title track to his upcoming 12-song album with the E Street Band. The rock icon's 20th studio album is due out on Oct. 23 on Columbia Records and is described as a "rock album fueled by the band's heart-stopping, house-rocking signature sound" in a statement.

“I love the emotional nature of Letter To You,” Springsteen said in a statement about the album recorded at his home studio in New Jersey. “And I love the sound of the E Street Band playing completely live in the studio, in a way we’ve never done before, and with no overdubs. We made the album in only five days, and it turned out to be one of the greatest recording experiences I’ve ever had.”

The album includes nine songs recently written by Springsteen, and three new versions of previously unreleased tracks from the 1970s: "Janey Needs a Shooter," "If I Was the Priest" and "Song for Orphans." The collection — produced by Ron Aniello with Springsteen, mixed by Bob Clearmountain and mastered by Bob Ludwig — is The Boss' first time performing with the E Street Band since their 2016 The River tour.

Hell fucking yah. Finally some good news in 2020. 

A LIVE studio recorded album. The entire E Street band at Bruce's mansion studio, jamming out like old times. Which the video for "Letter To You" does a great job of showcasing.

The one major thing missing of course is Clarence on the sax.

The last time the whole band played together was in 2016 for The River Tour. I saw the show at United Center. Although it was really good, and I'd give my right arm to take in any live music show right now, it wasn't my favorite Bruce show. The lights were on the entire time which was strange, and anytime I've seen any band play one of their entire albums straight through there's also a noticeable difference in energy between that part of the show, and the other part. It always seems like an opening set and a closing set. I know some people love these types of shows and some bands put on incredible album style concerts compared to others, just my opinion. 

Regardless, I love this song and am so pumped we're getting new music from The Boss. Good news that we definitely were in need of.

Pre-order Bruce Springsteen’s new album ‘Letter To You’ today:


1. "One Minute You’re Here"
2. "Letter To You"
3. "Burnin’ Train"
4. "Janey Needs A Shooter"
5. "Last Man Standing"
6. "The Power Of Prayer"
7. "House Of A Thousand Guitars"
8. "Rainmaker"
9. "If I Was The Priest"
10. "Ghosts"
11. "Song For Orphans"
12. "I’ll See You In My Dreams"