College Hoops

For all non-Boston, non-gambling sports chatter

College Hoops

Postby KW » Sat Sep 25, 2010 7:22 pm

I thought this Insider column from Bilas was worth posting.

There has been some very good discussion about my take on the Eric Bledsoe matter: that the NCAA should get out of the eligibility business, and that our colleges and universities are fully capable of deciding which students to admit and educate, exactly how to educate them, and which students are fit to represent them in athletic competition.

The reaction has been really interesting, with good and reasonable arguments on both sides.

My view on this matter is somewhat liberal, but it does not mean that I do not value academics. I have an undergraduate degree and a law degree from Duke University, and I managed to play college ball while I pursued my education. I value education and I believe in rules and standards.

However, I also realize that 347 Division I institutions have a wide range of diverse mission statements and standards. The mission statements of Princeton, Memphis, Kentucky, North Carolina Central, Stanford, East Carolina, Idaho State, Notre Dame and Ole Miss are very different, and no reasonable person would argue that they compete on a "level playing field" with regard to admissions, academics and resources.

How could that same reasonable person possibly expect that those same institutions could play basketball on a level playing field?

Some who differ with my position on NCAA minimum eligibility standards -- including our own blogger Eamonn Brennan -- suggest that if institutions were free to admit and play whomever they wish with no minimum standard, it would result in anarchy. I seriously doubt that there would be confusion, chaos and disorder, especially as there is not confusion, chaos and disorder in our colleges and universities outside of athletics.